Surprise in the mail

What’s the best thing a book lover could get in the mail? An AUTOGRAPHED book from a favorite relative!

I shared a fun reading experience with my nephew, Devin,  this summer. He was about to start college at North Carolina State University, and his summer reading book was Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson because the author was going to be the honored speaker at his college’s opening ceremonies.

images

When Devin came to visit, I decided to read the “young reader’s edition” (see my review on September 3). We discussed the book often, and it was humorous that I was reading the “kids” version and he, many years my junior, was reading the “adult” version. Today Devin sent me an autographed copy, with this inscription by Greg Mortenson: “When your heart speaks, take good notes!” I was thrilled to get this and touched that my nephew went to the trouble to get it for me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

5 Comments on “Surprise in the mail”

  1. Caroline Says:

    That’s awesome. Good thinking Dev!

  2. Devin Says:

    Thanks for the blog shout out! And I love what you did on your labor day weekend.

  3. Molly Says:

    What a great gift! And what fun for him to be able to talk about the book with his aunt. Sharing a book is an awesome experience!

  4. Kim Says:

    That’s an awesome gift Devin! What a nice suprise!

    Kim Drew

  5. Caroline Says:

    I am reading this book right now and so far I really like it.My mom already read this book in adult version and said that she really liked it. So that is why I an reading it.And I am also reading because Mrs.Raymond said it was a really good book.But the language is sort of hard but I am glad that there is a dictionary in the back of the book to tell me what the words meant.

    From,
    Caroline


Leave a Reply

