Also known as Harper by Ann Haywood Leal

n309818This book was inspired by the author’s work in a soup kitchen. Watching the homeless people come in, she wondered about their lives and wrote this story of a family struggling to keep things together. Harper’s father is gone, and at the beginning of the book her mother loses her job and can’t pay the rent. They move to a motel and Harper must miss school to care for her 6-year-old brother. That’s a lot for a fifth grade girl to deal with! Luckily she has her poetry writing to keep her focused and optimistic, and there are a number of interesting characters living around the motel who offer hope and inspiration. While it sounds pretty heavy, the author brings Harper, a fifth grade girl with a love of writing poetry and a strong sense of family, to life in a way that is realistic and touching.

Explore posts in the same categories: Book Reviews, For Older Children, New Books 2009 school year

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “Also known as Harper by Ann Haywood Leal”

  1. Caroline Says:

    Love the sound of this book. I am actually starting volunteering at the soup kitchen tomorrow so it’s ironic you reviewed this today!

  2. Abbie Says:

    This looks very interesting… I may have to stop by sometime. It sounds sort of like How to Steal a Dog.

  3. Kim Says:

    Sounds like a really good book I think I should read it!

    Kim

  4. Luke Says:

    I might read this book so I am going to ask Mrs. Raymond if she has it available

    LUKE

  5. Rose Says:

    I loved this book it caught me so quickly and I couldn’t stop reading!!!! I think anyone that enjoys a family story and a story filled with friendships and sorta adventure will adore this book.

  6. Abbie Says:

    Wow. I just finished this book and it was really, really powerful. It’s one of those books that makes you want to get off the couch and go help people like Harper because they do exist! It had a huge impact on me and I think it’s a great book.

  7. cpslibrary Says:

    Abbie,
    I’m really glad you liked it. And thanks for continuing to check in on my blog! Hopefully I can still have some good reading material for you from time to time…
    Mrs. R.

  8. David W. Murphy, Ed.D. Says:

    This sounds like a terrific book. The Superintendent may even swing by the CPS library to check it out when he stops by tomorrow!! It is great to see that this blog is getting so much attention! Kudos to all who participate in it and special thanks to Mrs. Raymond for making it available to all of us!
    Mr. M.

  9. alice Says:

    this is a really great book, plus it is sad at some spots.


Leave a Reply

