I’ve heard your favorites: here are mine!

The Story of Holly & Ivy by Rumer Godden and illustrated by Maine’s own Barbara Cooney is one of my holiday favorites.  I remember reading it to my daughter when she was little, and this year I brought it in from home and shared it with a 2nd grade class.  It is a story about holiday wishing:  a Christmas doll wants a girl, an orphan girl wants a doll  and a home, and a childless woman wants a child.   Do wishes come true??

Addy’s Christmas by Samantha Porter is part of the American Girls series.  Addy is a young girl who ran away on the Underground Railroad, and in this second book in the series, she and her mother are celebrating their first Christmas “in freedom”, but without Papa, brother Sam, and baby Esther.  Have some tissues ready for the end of this one!

The Steadfast Tin Soldier, Hans Christian Anderson’s famous story of the proper toy soldier who loves a paper ballerina from afar, is one of my library read-alouds  every December.  Watching the look on the students’ faces as the beautiful dancer flies across the room to join the soldier at the end is always so powerful for me.

Christmas in Noisy Village by Astrid Lindgren (the author of Pippi Longstocking and other wonderful books) is the book that my children and I used to enjoy the most at this time of year.  It takes place in a tiny Swedish village with only three houses in it.  The children have so much fun preparing for Christmas and then celebrating the big day.  Every year my son and I say we are going to make the snowball lantern, which is basically a candle in the snow with a pile of snowballs around it. The light always looks so magical glowing through the snowballs.  Maybe this year we will do it!

Explore posts in the same categories: Book Reviews, Good Read-Alouds, Mrs. Raymond's favorites

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “I’ve heard your favorites: here are mine!”

  1. coltin Says:

    Those look like good books!(maybe I’ll read them some time)!

  2. Jodi Putnam Says:

    i love looking @ your favorite books, because it gives me an Inspiration to read those books!!! Then when i do, then i will leave a comment 4 u!!!

  3. hannah evans Says:

    cool books, you read us the tin soldier didin’t u

  4. brooklin gordon Says:

    i love the book “Iiside Out And Back Again”. It is so good im almost finished !!!!! I love it so much !!!!


Leave a Reply

