The older the better

Who says a book has to be new to engage kids?  The last two weeks I have been having a great time reading aloud three classics/old favorites  in the library:  Romeo and Juliet to a fifth grade class, Lassie Come-Home to a fourth and a third grade class, and The Secret Garden to a second grade class.  Let me tell you, it has been pretty powerful!  The drama and the emotion in these stories really speak to the kids.  What a treat to be able to share these classics with young children.

Explore posts in the same categories: Classics

10 Comments on “The older the better”

  1. Jane Says:

    these are my fave.
    Absolutely, hands down the best.

  2. cpslibrary Says:

    Marta says: Lassie Come-Home is awesome because it leaves you on cliffhangers. Will she die? Will she come home? Find out! Read the book!

  3. cpslibrary Says:

    Matthew says: Lassie Come-Home was a really good book. It was sad and I recommend it to all viewers.

  4. cpslibrary Says:

    Shelby says: Lassie Come-Home is awesome. It leaves you on a bunch of sad cliffhangers, happy cliffhangers, and obviously the end is….??? Surprise!

  5. cpslibrary Says:

    Marta says: READ THE BOOK! READ THE BOOK! READ THE BOOK!

  6. Jarrett Says:

    Lassie come home was an awsome book it is such a good book

  7. Ben Parsons Says:

    I liked the book, I found it really interesting and I think we should read more sad books to leave us on more cliff hangers. It would be cool and thrilling.. Thank you for reading Lassie Come-Home, If other kids want to find out if Lassie makes it or not you have to read the book..

  8. caleb Says:

    LASSIE COME HOME IS A AWESOME BOOK. I RECOMMEND IT TO EVRYBODY. IT IS TO AWESOME TO NOT READ.IT’S A MUST READ BOOK.SO READ.

  9. Mia Shifrin Says:

    I just started reading The Secret Garden and it reminds me of Anne of Green Gables which I really like.

  10. Jodi Putnam Says:

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! i remember when mrs. Raymond read this to Mrs. Keane’s class! I also remember when i wrote in this book saying that this is my favorite ( along with Sarah Plain and Tall ) I MISS THE LIBRARY!!!


Leave a Reply

