SCHOOL’S OUT! READING’S IN!

I can’t believe it: school’s over for another year. I have spent the last two weeks doing two seemingly opposing actions: making sure all of the books that were checked out this year came back to the library, AND checking out books for the summer! Why would I let kids check out books when I’m working so hard to bring all the books back?? Well, I hate to see awesome books sit on the shelf all summer doing NOTHING, especially when my students are begging to borrow them. So as long as a student had a “clean slate”, (brought back all their books) and had their parent sign a permission slip for summer reading, I am thrilled to see the library books find a happy home over the summer. And I am proud to say that about 300 books were carefully chosen by eager, excited readers. That’s what it’s all about, as far as I’m concerned: connecting children with good books. LET THE READING BEGIN!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

