HAPPY SUMMER! LET THE READING BEGIN!

What an emotional day: today school got out, and there were SO MANY hugs and tears…I don’t think I’ve ever seen such an emotional last day of school in my 14 years as a school librarian.

The amazing thing for me this last week of school has been the INCREDIBLE EXCITEMENT from so many students about checking books out for the summer. My fiction shelves are literally half empty. Many kids checked out 20 fat novels, which is pretty ambitious for ten weeks of reading time! So I say, LET THE READING BEGIN! It is time for sitting in the backyard, at the beach, in the treehouse…wherever you feel happiest, and opening those wonderful books and losing yourself in the stories.  I certainly intend to do just that tomorrow.

And don’t forget to check in with me when you finish a book:  I would LOVE to hear how your summer reading challenges are going.  I have made a page called SUMMER READING (check out the pages on the right sidebar) and I look forward to hearing about your reading progress throughout the summer.  Imagine my surprise to open my computer this afternoon and see that four wonderful fourth grade girls have already left me messages today on various posts…CPS students are the best!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

