ELVIS AND OLIVE by Stephanie Watson

I sat in the backyard yesterday and read this fun tale of an unusual friendship. Natalie is “perfect” and has  a nice, loving family, while Annie is the new “tough” girl who just moved in with her rather uncaring uncle. The girls meet in the first days of summer vacation and give each other secret names, Elvis and Olive, and begin to spy on the neighborhood. At first Annie (Elvis) reminded me a bit of Pippi Longstocking, with her outlandish stories (lies) and absent parents, but she lacks Pippi’s sweet and funny essence. In fact, there were a few times at the beginning of this book where I almost stopped reading, because I wasn’t sure I liked Elvis and what she was getting Olive to do. I’m glad I kept reading, though,  because their neighborhood spy mission ended in a very satisfying way, and I thought the author did a very good job of describing a street full of people that I would love to know. For older elementary school girls, this book will make you think about family, friendship, and how to treat people. There’s even a tiny bit of romance!

Explore posts in the same categories: Book Reviews, For Older Children, New books 2010 school year

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “ELVIS AND OLIVE by Stephanie Watson”

  1. Mia Says:

    I loved Elvis and Olive! I didn’t think it was sassy or anything. The book really reminded me a little bit of “True ….Sort of” because they both ended up understanding each other really well. I did think that the spy club was a little mean,but I really wanted those pink boots. I do think Lilo might like it.


Leave a Reply

