AL CAPONE DOES MY SHIRTS party

We just finished reading AL CAPONE DOES MY SHIRTS by Gennifer Choldenko in the fourth grade literacy group.  Twelve-year old Moose Flanagan tells the story of his family moving to Alcatraz Island in the 1930’s where his father works at the prison full of notorious criminals (one of whom is Al Capone).    There are 23 other children on the 12-acre island, including the spoiled and manipulative Piper.   Moose’s older sister Natalie is autistic, and Moose’s parents rely heavily on him to help Natalie adjust to the world.

When we finished reading the book, the students wanted to learn more about the convicts who were imprisoned on Alcatraz Island.  Each student either picked a convict or made one up.  I was very impressed with the students’ research abilities!  Here is a picture of the whole group hamming it up as Alcatraz criminals:

And here are Ella and Emily dressed as the gangster Al Capone:


Explore posts in the same categories: Class activities, For Older Children

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “AL CAPONE DOES MY SHIRTS party”

  1. Emily Says:

    I love the picture of me and Ella being gangsters we look awesome. The book was a really cool I hope we can read more Alcatraz books.

    • Cameron Says:

      My favorite part of the book was when they were trying to get Natalie into Esther P. Marinoff, the special school for kids with learning troubles. Mr. Purdy was having a hard time accepting Natalie. Natalie really grew and changed by the end of the book, which is one of the reasons I liked it.

  2. Izzy Says:

    I look so awesome! So does everybody else. We’re criminals! (hee hee)

  3. Ella Says:

    We are sooo cool!!! I look the best! (hahaha) It was soooooooo much fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Isabel Chase Says:

    I loved the book(s). They were really great! My favorite character was Natalie. She is really cool, especially in the second! Alcatraz is cool. At the end we researched different criminals. I was Frank Morris! We had so much fun.
    If you ever get the chance read the books!

  5. chaia Says:

    Wow! I love it, I mean, we really look like big criminals. Sadly, if we where criminals, we wouldn’t be able to go to Alcatraz because it isn’t a prison any more. Some people call it ‘the rock’. It’s a good nickname!

  6. Will Says:

    Facts about Alcatraz/ Al Copone, probably the most famous criminal was Al Copone. His favorite thing to do was invite people to dinner and beat them to death with a baseball bat. That’s one of the reasons he wound up in prison. I really wish there was a Roy Gardner does my shirts.

  7. caroline Says:

    An interesting fact about Alcatraz is, 3 people escaped Alcatraz. Only 3 people, one of them, my friend, Isabel, was dressed up like one of them, Frank Morris. No one knows if they lived or not!
    My favorite part of the book is when the dad asks Natalie how old she is and she says exactly how old she is. This book is amazing! I recommend it to everyone! I hope lots and lots of people like this book!
    From, Caroline Newell!

  8. Emily Says:

    The book was so good. My favorite part was Natalie’s birthday party. I didn’t know that the convicts had ”jobs” that they had to do. I didn’t know that they could play baseball unlike other prisons. I recommend to all the kids who like a really good book.

  9. Ella Says:

    I loved the first book. and i am really enjoying the second book. In the book we learned about three criminals, Machine Gun Kelly (Max), Escapee Roy Gardener (Will), and Al Capone (Caroline). At the party I played Al Capone’s son Sonny.

  10. Will Says:

    I really think that everybody should read this book

  11. Max Godomsky Says:

    This book was the bomb!

  12. Trey Says:

    Woooh! Yeah! I ❤ criminals!

  13. chaia Says:

    I remember that party! I looked like I was about to punch the glass. (What was I thinking?)


Leave a Reply

